Lost Tools of Writing 4th Edition VS 5th Edition

September 23, 2019 at 9:05 am | Posted in crafts | Leave a comment

I homeschool my son, and often buy used curriculum.  I purchased a used copy of The Lost Tools of Writing, 4th edition, for my son without realizing that the co-op he is in is using the newer 5th edition.  Someone had an extra 5th edition teacher’s guide, which they gave me, and also let me borrow their student workbook for an afternoon so I could compare the two and figure out which worksheet pages coincide with each other.

I made a chart, for my son to reference this year since he will be doing different page numbers than listed in his assigned work (essentially the same worksheets, just different places in the book.). A few of the worksheets are different, and I will be using the newer edition in the teacher’s guide where I can.  There were really only 5 places where the worksheets differed enough to be noticeably different, so I listed those out on the last page.  You can really use the old edition with minimal hassle, and since I saved $125 getting it used it is totally worth the hassle.  In case anyone else is wanting to use the older 4th edition in a class using the newer 5th edition, I am uploading the page numbers chart that I made.

lost tools of writing 4th edition vs 5th edition

I highlighted the page numbers I plan to use with my son, since I have access to the 5th edition teacher’s workbook which includes many of the worksheets.  The older edition worksheets are essentially the same, with the exception of a few which I have typed in red (like “Essay 4 comparison 2 worksheet” in the photo.)  For those few worksheets, there is a page at the end with a description of how the pages are different in the new edition.  In the example above, “Essay 4 comparison worksheet:  1st page (67) is the same, 2nd page in new edition includes: an example from Narnia, and a space to fill out with “While __ (term A) is __ (a group of thing), __ (term B) is __ (a different group or thing). ”  Nothing too crazy, and it will be easy to adjust for your student to follow.

Here is a [link] to the chart I made, in case you missed it above.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.