Is boneless skinless chicken actually cheaper?

April 19, 2010 at 8:25 am | Posted in Food | 2 Comments
whole chicken

Raw whole chicken (image from http://www.morguefile.com user Jusben)

I hate pulling meat off the bones.  HATE it.  I don’t think that I would have survived in the days when meat didn’t come in nice little packages.  But I am very cheap frugal, and meat with bones and fat attached is often significantly cheaper than its boneless, skinless counterparts.  About four years ago, purchased a large amount of pork chops and chicken breasts on sale.  I brought it home, processed it, and since I had it all sitting on the counter I weighed the skin, bones, and fat to see how much ‘junk’ I paid for.

My 12 lb package of pork chops contained 3 lbs of fat and bones, not that bad considering it was 1/2 the price of boneless trimmed chops.  It took me 45 minutes to process the 12 lbs of chops.

The chicken on the other hand, was not such a good deal.  It wasn’t quite 1/2 the cost of boneless skinless, and my 5 lb package contained 2 lbs of bone and skin.  Also, it took me over 45 minutes or wrestling with the meat to cut it off the bone (the first one didn’t even resemble a breast when I was through Surprised )

I decided then to never buy breast with bones again.  Even more so thighs because they have less meat.  People tell me that you get a richer broth by using the bones, etc.  I have been cooking with boneless skinless meat for a long time, and I don’t miss the fatty taste the bones and fat provide- in fact I prefer my meals to be lighter.

Totally random and not craft related, but hey, didn’t you want to know that?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very random but good to know!!! That makes me happy because I hate cutting chicken on the bone. I only buy boneless skinless breast or thighs. I try to stock up on the breast when I find it on sale for $1.98-$1.68 or less a pound. I think that is a pretty good deal plus Wally World will price match it with the ad:)

    • I was very happy to discover that I didn’t need to mess with all that :0)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

