DIY: Kids Apron and Pot Holders

February 10, 2011 at 8:19 am | Posted in crafts, Food, homeschool | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

This year for Christmas I made my niece an apron, and started to make one for J too.  I finally finished his apron yesterday, as well as some matching pot holders.  Because cooking is more fun when you get to wear an apron that you designed yourself.

To start with, I told J to design something to go on his apron and pot holders.  This is what he drew for me.  (He later decided that the bottom critters didn’t need little spikes.)  I used a freebie kids apron that was too small as a guide to cut the apron out of the back of a stained yellow dress shirt.  I save all our worn out or stained clothing to use as scrap fabric, and J chose the colors he thought would be good for his apron.

There are two ways to finish an apron – sewing two sides together, or edging with bias tape.  Since I didn’t have a lot of pre-made bias tape, I cut the apron out twice and sewed the two pieces together.  I used a variety of lids to cut the pieces out, ironed them on with seam tape, and embellished them with other fabric scraps and vintage ric-rac.  I used fabri-tac to attach the eyes since I was too impatient to hand sew all those little pieces on.  I love fabri-tac, it hold up really well through multiple washings.

I followed Prudent Baby’s tutorial to make the matching pot holders.  J loves his new apron and potholders, and is excited to help me in the kitchen.  I love any masculine project that I can sew with my son (because one day he will want to be able to repair his own clothes,)  and any opportunity to teach J about cooking (because one day he will be feeding himself.)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ok, these are adorable!!!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.