Egg Yolks and a Breakfast Casserole Recipe

June 4, 2015 at 5:40 pm | Posted in crafts | Leave a comment

Recently I found myself with 36 egg yolks.  My husband has been following a low calorie diet, and has been eating a lot of egg whites.  Since the equivalent of 7 egg whites is the same price as 18 whole eggs, I figured I would just separate the yolks out myself, and use them for “something” else.

The most yolk-heavy recipe I found used a measly 6 yolks, and yielded 50-60 cookies.  I wouldn’t want 20 cookies in my house, let alone the 350+ I would make to use up all my yolks.

So, this is my new yolk-heavy recipe.  In case anyone else has three dozen egg yolks hanging out in their fridge, just waiting to be cooked.  36 egg yolks is right around 2 cups.  If you only have a dozen or two egg yolks you can easily add whole eggs to make up the difference, a large egg is around 1/4 cup.

  • 2 cups egg yolks
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 lb cheese, shredded (I used a white Monterey Jack, a mozzarella would make it less fattening)
  • 1 lb ground pork, or breakfast sausage
  • 1 large onion
  • 1 bell pepper (or several of the smaller multicolored peppers)
  • (garlic, salt, pepper, parsley, caraway, and charnushka to taste, if using pork)
  1. Cook the sausage or ground pork.  I can’t eat MSG so I make my own sausage scramble by cooking 1 lb of ground pork and adding in sausage spices to taste – super easy.  I use around 1 tbsp garlic powder, 2 tbsp parsley, and 1 tsp each caraway seeds and charnushka.
  2. While the pork is cooking, slice the onion and peppers.  Grease a 13″x9″ baking pan.
  3. Spread the cooked sausage in the bottom of the pan.
  4. Cook the onion and pepper until just done (the onion will be slightly translucent.)
  5. Sprinkle veggies over the meat, followed by the cheese.  Pour the egg yolks (only) evenly over the mixture.
  6. Lightly beat the 4 eggs, and pour them over the top of the mixture.  I put the eggs separately on top so it will look more normal, with the white and yellow mixed.  (That is also why I chose a white cheese.)
  7. Bake at 350* F for 20-30 minutes, until lightly golden and bubbly.

Not the healthiest dish, but a quick way to use up 3 dozen egg yolks 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

