DIY disposable muffin (or cupcake) pan

November 5, 2010 at 4:35 am | Posted in Food | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Rows upon rows of chocolaty cupcakes topped with coconut pecan frosting…  but, I only have one muffin pan, so how did I bake all of these tasties?  I made my own pans, of course.  It is really quite simple.  All you need is a muffin pan, and some tinfoil.

First, tear off a piece of foil that is about 4″-6″ longer than your pan.  Regular foil works fine.  Flip your muffin pan over, and press the foil over one of the center cups.  Be gentle, so you don”t tear the foil.  Make sure that the bottom of the cup is fully flat.  Move on to the next center cup, and then the edge cups.

Crunch the edges up, and remove your new pan.  Flip it over, and set on a baking sheet.  It took me about 5 minutes to make three foil pans.

Plop in some paper cupcake liners, and lubricate with the oil of your choice.  As you can see, the wrappers pop up and don’t sit all the way down in the muffin tin.  That’s ok, because they are the same way in the real pan.

Scoop in your batter, following your recipe (or the package directions, in this case.)  Bake according to your directions.

The cupcakes that were baked in the real tin are slightly narrower than the ones baked in my foil pans.  You would probably never notice, if you weren’t sitting there comparing them side by side.

After you have removed the cupcakes, crumple your tins and toss.  These particular cupcakes are going to a potluck meal.  I am not at all a fan of chocolate, so I took a bite, took a photo, and gave the rest to my son.  He enjoyed it much more than I did.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.