Foam Mayflower craft

November 16, 2015 at 4:10 pm | Posted in crafts | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

mayflower foam craft

This is a craft I designed for the annual Thanksgiving celebration I participate in with our local homeschool group.  2 years ago our theme was explorers, and I thought the foam boats would be a fun craft and activity to float in gutters once they were made.  I was searching for something really easy to put together, and inexpensive.  Since I couldn’t find anything like that I designed my own, and was pleased with how well the boats floated due to the lightweight foam.  For that activity I prepared kits in bags containing all the pieces each child would need since we had ~100 participants, but for an individual child or small group of kids you don’t really need to do that.

I used a cut up foam pool float for the inside thick foam to attach the sail to – a pool noodle from the dollar store would work equally well – you just need something to stab the mast (a bamboo skewer) into that is lightweight and can be taped into the bottom of the boat – any kind of styrofoam would work.  The float I found was pink, so I spray painted it brown to match the foam I used, but you could cover it with matching foam if you would like to.  Since I was making 100 kits I decided spray paint would be much easier, and faster.

You can download the free .pdf pattern to make your own here: mayflower craft

mayflower craft | RandomCreativity

From previous years I also have a tutorial to make your own cornhusk doll:

Free corn husk doll directions | randomcreativity

And directions to make a paper pilgrim’s hat:

pilgrim hat

 

Enjoy!

 

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] have done previously have been paper woven placemats, pilgrim hats and bonnets, cornhusk dolls, and floating foam Mayflowers.  Each year I look out for ideas we can use, and this year I thought I’d share the ideas I […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

