Luckett Farms CSA in Baton Rouge, LA

May 6, 2015 at 5:09 am | Posted in Food, garden, totally random | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

This is a bit random, but I wanted to post a review of Luckett Farms, the local CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) that we joined this summer.  Several of my friends participate, and had posted on Facebook how much they enjoy the produce so I decided to give it a try.  I was a bit disappointed that I couldn’t find any reviews or photos before I bought a share though, so took some photos and weighed the produce to satisfy my curiosity, and am posting it because I can’t be the only person who wants to know this information. 🙂  The photos aren’t the greatest, since I snapped them with my cell phone as I was processing the veggies, but bad photos are better than no photos 🙂  I have the first three boxes photographed, weighed, and price compared below, and will update it to add the remaining 5 boxes as the summer progresses. Week 1: Luckett Farms CSA box 1csa box 1 out My first box contained:

  • 1.1 lbs fresh green beans – filled ~ 1/3 gallon ziplock when cleaned ( $3?- no comparable produce)
  • .7 lb grape tomatoes – normal sized clamshell container ($3 @ Target)
  • .9 lb tomatoes – 3 medium sized ($1.39 @ Rouses)
  • 1.5 lbs yellow squash – 5 medium sized ($1.79 @ Rouses)
  • 2.6 lbs sweet potatoes – 6 medium ( $4.50 @ Sams)
  • 1.4 lbs cucumbers – 2 small, 1 medium ( $2.34 @ Target)
  • .8 lb onions – 4 small onions (0.72 @ Rouses)
  • .5 lb romaine lettuce – 1 head ($2 @ Target)
  • .5 lb red lettuce – 1 head ($3 @ Target)
  • 10 lbs of produce total

My first impression was that the box wasn’t all the way full – considering the severe storms and tornadoes that came through a few weeks ago it is understandable, and they said that their crops were a few weeks behind due to all the rain we had for the month before that.  I am hoping that this box is an exception, and that future boxes are full.  The produce has been excellent – everything is very fresh and looks good.  The lettuce especially was great.  Based on the local sales papers from Rouses, and the normal produce costs at Sams and Target, I would have spent $21.74 to buy the equivalent produce at the store, plus tax.  I didn’t compare prices for the organic produce, because I would be buying normal produce instead – the savings are probably greater if you set out to only buy organic.  If future boxes are full I think it will be worth the cost.  Plus, the produce from the store wouldn’t be nearly as fresh. Week 2: csa box 2 csa box 2 out My second box contained:

  • 2.4 lbs tomatoes – 4 large ($3.35 @ Rouses)
  • .7 lb cherry tomatoes – 1 pint ($3 @ Target)
  • 1.4 lb green beans ~1/3 gallon ( $3.50? – no comparable produce)
  • 2.6 lb sweet potatoes – 5 medium ($ 4.50 @ Sams)
  • 1.7 lbs yellow squash – 6 medium ($2.02 @ Rouses)
  • 3 lbs zucchini – 3 large, 1 small ($3.57 @ Rouses)
  • 2.2 lbs cucumbers – 4 large ($3.16 @ Target)
  • 14 lbs of produce total

Based on the local sales paper from Rouses, and the normal produce costs at Sams and Target, I would have spent $23.10 to buy the equivalent produce at the store, plus tax.  I wasn’t too thrilled to have so much squash, zucchini, and cucumbers because my small garden has been providing a bunch.  However it is still a good value for the produce. Week 3: csa box 3 csa box 3 out My third box contained:

  • 2 lbs peaches – 6 medium ($5.98 @ Rouses)
  • 1.6 lb tomatoes – 4 small ($2.23 @ Rouses)
  • 3.2 lbs melon – 1 medium ($2.50 @ Target)
  • .5 lb onion (red, white, yellow) – 3 small (.50 @ Rouses)
  • 3 lbs zucchini – 4 large ($5.07 @ Rouses)
  • 1.5 lbs yellow squash – 4 medium, 4 small ($2.54 @ Rouses)
  • 2.4 lbs red potatoes – 1 large, 5 medium ($2.50 @ Target)
  • 2.8 lbs cucumbers – 4 large ($1.33 @ Rouses)
  • 1.3 lbs green beans – 3/4 paper lunch bag ($3.25?) {Not shown in 2nd photo}
  • 18.3 lbs of produce total

I was super excited to see peaches and a melon in my box this week, and I felt like the box was heavier than previous boxes (it was.)  Between my garden and Luckett Farms I have zucchini and cucumbers running out of my ears, but that’s neither here nor there.  I forgot to set the beans out in the photo after I weighed all the veggies.  Based on the local sales paper from Rouses, and the normal produce costs at Sams and Target, I would have spent $25.90 to buy the equivalent produce at the store, plus tax. Is it worth it? So far, I think it has been worth it.  The produce has been fresh, and nice, if not the food I would have chosen each week.  It has forced me to cook more fresh veggies instead of frozen since I have had to use up all the produce from Luckett Farms, as well as the produce from my garden each week.  Since you pay for the whole season up front ahead of time, I am budgeting to set aside the $25 each week from my grocery budget to pay for next season.

Update: After getting the next next several boxes, I decided not to get a CSA subscription again.  The produce was worth it, but only just.  However, my practical side can’t help but notice that I wouldn’t be purchasing 4 cucumbers when I still have 2 left over in the fridge, or 5 tomatoes when I picked 4 gallons the day before.  If you don’t have a garden, and don’t mind the surprise of a CSA box it might good.  But for me, I have been really put out trying to use up food that we don’t like (eggplant and purple hull peas), can’t eat, or already have plenty of.  I have enjoyed having extra fresh produce, but would prefer to choose it myself, and in the quantities that I want.  Since I can get nice local produce from Rouses or the produce stand for the same price, I will go that route in the future.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

