Italian Cream Soda Recipe

April 24, 2012 at 7:22 pm | Posted in crafts, Food | 5 Comments
Tags: , , ,

My son has really been into Super Mario lately so he wanted to have a Mario birthday party when he turned 7 this past week.  We had spaghetti and salad and Italian cream soda… if you’ve never had Italian cream soda you really should try it out.  They are incredibly easy to make and very delicious, if not very healthy.

According to recipes I’ve seen you should have a ratio of 1 part syrup, 1 part cream, and 3 parts club soda.  Since club soda is pretty bland we used sprite and ginger ale instead.  I decided whipped cream would be more fun than pouring regular cream into the cup (who doesn’t like a big glob of whipped cream floating on top of their drink?) and easier to have sitting out unattended.  You just grab a glass, fill it with ice, pour in your desired amount of syrup, top it off with soda, and then spray a big glob of whipped cream on top.  I made sure we had straws, since the drink pretty much stays separate until stirred.

I also made my own syrup.  Simple syrup is 2 cups of sugar, 1/4 cup corn syrup, and 1 cup of water, heated just until the sugar is completely dissolved.  I stirred a package of unsweetened kool-aid mix into the sugar before I added the water to make it mixed berry flavored.  We called it Super Mario Juice, and my son was thrilled.  (This syrup recipe also works great for sno-cones and sno-balls.)

And here is my ‘keeping it real’ picture – I usually make a nice cake the day before, but this year I ran out of time.  My aunt had given me some spray food coloring, so I sprayed yellow and blue on the white frosting hoping for a Luigi green.  (fail. I was in a hurry, and didn’t really think things through – I should have just tinted the frosting green.)  Then I ran to the computer and googled mario to print something off and stick it on top of the cake.  Looked a little funny but J was happy and it tasted great.  I guess I don’t need to make a nice cake next year, since he was just as happy with the last minute version.  (This white cake recipe is pretty good, especially with a creamy lemon filling, and this frosting recipe is absolutely amazing.)

Italian Cream Soda and Flavored Syrup

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 5 minutes
  • Print

Italian Cream Soda:

  • 1/4 cup syrup (see recipe below)
  • 1/4 cup cream, or spray whipped cream
  • 3/4 cup club soda, sprite, or ginger ale

Fill a glass halfway with ice.  Pour syrup into glass, followed by soda.  Either pour in heavy cream, or spray with whipped cream. Enjoy!

Simple Syrup:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup corn syrup
  • 1 cup water
  • Flavoring, optional

If you are using kool aid as your flavoring base, stir it into the sugar before cooking.  You can also add extracts after cooking, or use juice, etc in place of the water.

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and heat just until dissolved.  Use in Italian Cream Sodas, snowballs, snow cones, mixed drinks, etc.  Enjoy!

Printed from: randomcreativity.wordpress.com

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. As I saw this recpe I knew i had to try it! Why? Looks good, non alcoholic, easy, versatile and … I had all on hand.
    I used self made syrup with Monarda didyma (aslo known as (crimson beebalm, scarlet beebalm, scarlet monarda, Oswego tea, or bergamot) and it came delicious.
    Next time I will use lavender syrup lemonade, I’m sure it will be a hit!

  2. Awesome recipe Rachel, it turned out perfectly. I love Italian sodas and this recipe does not disappoint. It was quick and really easy to make. I used a passion fruit syrup as the flavor base. Thank you so much for sharing. Made for Culinary Quest for the Suitcase Gourmets.

  3. Yum! Quick easy and yummy! Thanks Rachel! Posted by Stacy G for Culinary Quest 2014

  4. Oh this is heavenly! i added a split vanilla bean to my syrup & scraped the rest of the seeds out when it had cooled. Divine! It’s kinda like drinking melted vanilla ice cream! I recommend using a straw so you can schlurp up all the vanilla seeds… Made for Culinary Quest 2014/CCQ.

  5. This is very good. I like that I can use whatever extracts I have on hand instead of buying expensive syrups. I used raspberry this time. I also used cream instead of whipped cream.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

