Snickers Brownie Cheesecake Bites

November 21, 2011 at 7:57 am | Posted in Food | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

My Aunt Peggy has an amazing cheesecake recipe.  It is delicious on its own, and easy to adapt into several tasty variations.  I was planning on making a pumpkin swirl cheesecake for our church’s Thanksgiving get together yesterday, but in the craziness of moving I forgot to thaw my pumpkin puree.  Since it was late and I didn’t particularly want to run to the store I decided to put that bargain priced halloween candy to good use instead. 

I used about 10 mini snickers bars for my cheesecake – just chop it up into chocolate chip sized pieces.  I didn’t use my food processor since the caramel sauce would have gummed up and made a mess (and it was already packed.)

Next, you will need to bake a brownie layer in a 9″x13″ glass baking dish.  I used a box mix since it was easier to find than my cocoa powder – here is the recipe I would normally use.  You don’t want to bake the brownie all the way – bake it until it is just set but still quite gooey.  The baking time will vary depending on your recipe – mine was done 10 minutes before the full baking time.   Set the brownie aside and bring the oven up to 450*F.

While the brownie is baking mix up your cheesecake batter.  It is very important that your cream cheese be thoroughly softened – I typically let it sit on the counter at room temperature for 3 hours.  If you can’t set it out that long, microwave each pack for 15 seconds and then let it sit out for at least 20 minutes.  If it isn’t completely softened it won’t blend properly, and there will be little lumps of plain cream cheese baked into your cheesecake.

The recipe is very simple: 3 packs of cream cheese, 3 eggs, 3/4 cup sugar, a tsp of vanilla, 2 tbsp of milk, and 2 tbsp of flour.  Cream together thoroughly, preferably with a mixer.

Gently stir 2/3 of the chopped candy into the batter, and pour over the partially baked brownies.  Bake at 450*F for 10 minutes.  Turn the oven down to 250*F and bake for an additional 20 minutes.  The cheesecake is done when the center is set – it will still be slightly wiggly until it cools.  You may need an additional 5-10 minutes of baking time, but I like to check it early since the time will vary depending on your brownies.

Sprinkle the reserved chopped candy over top of the cheesecake while its still hot.  Allow it to cool completely on the counter, and then chill in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours before slicing.

I prefer to cut the cheesecake into 1″ squares, particularly if other desserts will be served.  I also like to add a sign to food I bring places since I have found that people are hesitant to try foods if they can’t tell what it is.

The sign also comes in handy for keeping the plastic wrap off of the cheesecake on a serving platter.

(Here is the recipe for the pumpkin swirl version I was going to make – I am not a chocolate fan so I think it is much better than the snickers cheesecake.)

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. .I made this recipe on 7/13/14. It had a great flavor but I didn’t get a good looking recipe. I think I put the cheesecake mixture on too soon and it sunk into the browning mixture


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

