Ridiculously long Doctor Who scarf inspired necklace / bracelet

September 28, 2011 at 7:57 am | Posted in crafts | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Lately a beaded necklace, inspired by Tom Baker’s 16 foot long scarf, has been popping upon craft blogs and pinterest.  I thought it would be fun to make something frivolous like that between packing up to move (which has turned out to be much more complicated than I anticipated.)  After making a short section using a peyote stitch, I decided that I didn’t want to spend 20 hours and $30 to make a single necklace.   Instead, I followed the scarf pattern using a single strand of beads for a necklace that can be worn long, doubled, or as a bracelet – it used a minimal amount of beads and only took a little over an hour to complete.

My beautiful little sister let me photograph her wearing the 52″ long necklace.  I like that it is stealth geek – it looks like a nice necklace, but if you are familiar with the scarf the pattern is instantly recognizable.

I didn’t notice the bee in this photo until I lowered the camera, and I just about threw it when I saw him.  I don’t normally run from bees, but it startled me that he was so close.  Totally random.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

