Yaki-ramen

August 30, 2011 at 6:00 am | Posted in Food | 5 Comments
Tags:

My son spent a week in Florida camping with my in-laws last week, so I didn’t buy salad greens, bread, or fruits and snacks like I normally would.  About halfway through the week I ran out of lunch options, and found myself reverting to the old college standby – ramen noodles.  When we were first married my husband taught me how to make yaki-ramen, the way he learned from his Japanese roommate, which is a lot better than just boiling the noodles.  If you add in green onion, snow peas, mushrooms, cabbage, or leftover meat it can really be a nice meal.  (Of course, its also good without all the extras, which is how I had it since my fridge was empty.)

Instead of boiling the noodles in a pot, you want to put a pack of noodles in a small skillet and cover them halfway in water.  I usually break the noodles up to fit in the bottom of the skillet.  If you have any fresh veggies or leftover meat add them in too.  Bring it to a boil.

Stir constantly with a fork or chopsticks after it reaches a rolling boil.  I sprinkle in my seasonings now – a dash of garlic powder, ginger, salt, pepper, and sesame seed – about 1/4 tsp if you must measure.  I can’t eat msg so I always throw the seasoning packet away – you could use it instead if you want.

Leave the heat high and keep stirring – it should only take a minute or two to evaporate the rest of the liquid.  When its done I stir in a few drops of sesame oil to add flavor, and sometimes some butter or a tiny bit of soy sauce.  Quick, easy, cheap, and it saved me a trip to the store.

Yaki-ramen

Ingredients:

  • 1 package ramen noodles
  • 1/4 cup snow peas
  • 1/4 cup mushroom slices
  • 1/8 cup green onions
  • 1/4 cup shredded cabbage or carrots
  • 1/8 cup green onions
  • 1/4 cup sliced cooked meat
  1. Instead of boiling the ramen noodles in a pot, you want to put a pack of noodles in a small skillet and cover them halfway in water.  I usually break the noodles up to fit in the bottom of the skillet.  If you have any fresh veggies or leftover meat add them in too.  Bring it to a boil.
  2. Stir constantly with a fork or chopsticks after it reaches a rolling boil.  I sprinkle in my seasonings now – a dash of garlic powder, ginger, salt, pepper, and sesame seed – about 1/4 tsp each if you must measure.  (I can’t eat msg so I always throw the seasoning packet away – you could use it instead if you want)
  3. Leave the heat high and keep stirring – it should only take a minute or two to evaporate the rest of the liquid.  When its done I stir in a few drops of sesame oil to add flavor, and sometimes some butter or a tiny bit of soy sauce.  If you don’t have dietary restrictions add soy sauce liberally to taste.
  4. Pour kaki-ramen onto a plate, and top with shredded carrot, cabbage, sliced green onions, wakamae (seaweed seasoning) etc.

Printed from: randomcreativityrecipes.wordpress.com

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yaki-ramen

    This was very good…not sure if the flavor was any different from just boiling the noodles…but it did make it easy to throw the raw veggies in and let them get tender crisp while the noodles finished cooking…btw…the noodles were done by the time the water had evaporated…I added cooked chicken, cabbage, broccoli and snow peas…made a delicious dinner just for me…made for For Your Consideration tag game…TeresaS

  2. Love this recipe. I actually had plain ramen noodles (no flavor packets) to use and this was perfect. I added garlic salt (instead of garlic powder) and I got all the flavor of packaged ramen soup with none of the MSG. I added frozen peas and rotisserie chicken and it was terrific! One word of caution, it takes only a minute to go from perfectly cooked to mushy noodles, watch carefully! Thanks for posting. (Stacy G made for CQ 2016 Japan).

  3. Yummy! I was making this for our lunch and wanted it to be more of a soup – so I filled the pot with water, used the seasoning packet AND added the seasonings you suggested. We loved all of the veggies in this. Delicious as a soup, too. Thank you!

  4. This was delicious, and it was so easy to prepare. I more than tripled it so it would be enough for our family, and it easily adapted to that adjustment. Along with the soy sauce and sesame oil, I added some cooked beef, snow peas, sliced button mushrooms (next time I’d like to try sliced cremini mushrooms as I think they offer a little more flavor), shredded carrots, green onions and sesame seeds. I also had a handful of fresh snap peas from my garden to use up, so I tossed those in, too. And it was really good. I’ll make this again. Thanks, Random Rachel.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

