English Muffins

June 29, 2011 at 11:19 am | Posted in Food | Leave a comment
Tags:

I have always assumed English muffins would be complicated to make, but a few months ago I was delighted to find that they are actually as simple as pancakes.  I basically use Alton Brown’s recipe, leaving out the powdered milk and using 2% milk instead of water, combining the proofing step, and cooking it on the stove top instead of a griddle.   I didn’t get picture of the process, since I wanted to keep my camera away from the splattering bacon grease.

English Muffins

  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp butter, softened
  • 1 1/3 cup warm milk
  • 1 envelope dry yeast
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

Put milk and butter in a microwave safe bowl and warm.  Pour into a large glass bowl and stir in sugar, salt, and yeast until dissolved.  Wait a few minutes to see if the yeast is working (it will ferment and bubble/foam a little.)  Add the sifted flour and beat thoroughly with a wooden spoon. Cover the bowl and let it rest in a warm spot for 30 minutes.  (I subbed 1/2 cup whole wheat flour in one batch – they turned out just as lovely.)

While the batter was resting I cooked grits, bacon, and skillet potatoes for a hearty weekend lunch.  (We don’t eat like this often, so when we do I like to enjoy it.)  The tuna cans I had wouldn’t work as molds since the bottom couldn’t be cut off; so I folded a piece of tinfoil a few times and wrapped it around the tuna can to make a single use ring.  I found muffin rings for $4 on amazon, so I ordered some since it will be cheaper than using foil in the long run, and the muffins are simle to make.

Preheat the skillet to 300*F.  Really, I have no idea how to preheat a skillet to a particular temperature, so I went for medium-low (setting #3 on my electric stove.)  Place rings onto skillet and coat lightly with vegetable spray. Place 2 scoops of batter into each ring, and cover the skillet.   Cook for 4-5 minutes and carefully flip the muffins.  You are supposed to be able to do this with tongs – I found it easier to slide my spatula under the muffin and flip it like a pancake since it slid out of the ring when I tried to pick it up with tongs.  Cover with the skillet and cook for another 4-5 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool before serving.

I let the muffins cool for about 5 minutes, and then toasted them.  Amazingly delicious with bacon, fried egg, spicy brown mustard, and lettuce.  They keep for 2-3 days, but the recipe only makes 8 muffins so that isn’t a problem for us.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

