Wedding shadow box re-do

June 21, 2011 at 3:03 pm | Posted in crafts | Leave a comment
Tags:

We went out of town last month, and kitty really missed us.  Somehow, between her trying to get out and my husband trying to get in with suitcases, my shadow box was knocked from the wall and smashed.  The frame was badly damaged, but most of the contents survived, so I decided to stick it in another shadow box.  My 7 year old dried roses probably won’t survive around here if they aren’t protected somehow.

Since I still had about a yard of wedding dress fabric leftover I covered the back panel of my new shadow box with it.  I decided to go the easiest route this time, and just used double stick tape to hold the fabric in place.  I added some masking tape as an afterthought to prevent any fraying.  No one is going to see the back, so I didn’t trim the corners or anything like that.  A piece of white felt could cover the back.

When I made my wedding invitations I only made one extra for myself, so I copied it onto photo paper to include in the shadow box.  I used foam tape to place it on the fabric back.

I stuck my poor, squashed cake topper and a rice bag to the shadow box frame using double stick foam tape.  I fluffed the topper and tried to make it look better, but it doesn’t look that great anymore.  I didn’t want to throw it away so I kept it in the frame.

I taped my flowers to the backing with more foam tape – I only stuck it to the ribbon since the flowers are super fragile at this point.  I left a few of the flower petals that fell off after the mishap with the other frame in the bottom of this new frame.  I stuck it on a high shelf, out of the way of future flying luggage.  I could have spent a lot more time fluffing the cake topper and arranging the ribbons but at this point I just want to protect the flowers and have it up out of the way.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

