Update on my Garden

June 14, 2011 at 6:03 am | Posted in crafts | Leave a comment

Remember my container garden?  I thought I would share how its doing.   Not that incredibly interesting, but its what I’ve been doing lately.   My strawberries have done great – I think you would have to have more than one plant to get a decent amount though – we have only been getting a berry or two a day (and they seldom make it into the house.)

The tomatoes are doing pretty decent – they almost died when we were out of town for my sister’s wedding, and then got pounded by rain and hail this past week.  We still haven’t picked any tomatoes, but they haven’t died yet either.

The turnips appear to be growing good in my laundry bucket – I am going to wait a little longer to check the bulbs though.

The chilis are growing, but haven’t flowered yet.

My red onions are doing great – they are ping pong ball sized, and have thrived in the little shoe boxes.

The sugar snap peas and green beans are all planted in the bag of potting soil from Lowes, and they all died.  If you are wondering why there is a bottle of snapple in my pot, it is a DIY self waterer.  You fill it up, water the plant, and then jam the bottle of water into the soil.  As the soil dries it pulls the water out of the bottle, helping your plant survive a few days without you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

