Vintage space art and books

April 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm | Posted in totally random | Leave a comment
Tags:

I am always amazed at the stuff that can be found at thrift stores and yard sales.  I have always been a sci-fi fan, so when I found this vintage printed mirror at the second hand store this morning I had to have it.  Fortunately, J is also a sci-fi fan so he got to have the mirror in his room.  It reminds me of the art in the old books I grew up reading:

I only have two books from the 1950’s Tom Corbett, Space Cadet series by Carey Rockwell, and I really enjoyed both of them.  My Dad gave me the first book for Christmas when I was in elementary school.   Stand By For Mars is about three boys at a space academy.  One of the boys doesn’t get along well with others, until they get ship wrecked on Mars and have to depend on each other to survive for several days before they are rescued.

I think I read all of the books in the Mushroom Planet series by Eleanor Cameron.  In Stowaway to the Mushroom Planet a few boys manage to build a space ship in their backyard.  With the help a friendly alien that lives in the neighborhood they are able to fly to the mushroom planet.  The boys solve a dillema involving a chicken and her eggs, and return home for further adventures.

CS Lewis wrote a Space Trilogy that is great, but not for kids.  The series follows a man named Ransom, and his travels to a planet that has not fallen.  It is just as captivating as the Chronicles of Narnia, but more sci-fi.  It think it is supposed to be a sort of weird allegory.

Have Space Suit, Will Travel by Robert Heinlein is about a boy who wins a space suit in a contest involving soap labels.  He is kidnapped by aliens, and must rescue a girl.  I really don’t remember the plot details, but I think it had a happy ending.

I love reading old books!  And I’m glad I found the mirror – not too bad for $2.

(Just FYI – it has been 16+ years since I read most of these books, and my naive 12 year old self may not have remembered something offensive.)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

