Try something new: crab salad

April 5, 2011 at 6:49 am | Posted in Food, totally random | Leave a comment
Tags:

Most of the time I love cooking, but sometimes I just get bored with it.  I have to prepare food just about everyday for every meal, and I don’t want it to become a chore.  To keep things interesting, once a month or so I will try a new style of cuisine, or an ingredient that is new to me.  I think it is fun to buy something that I have never had before, and learn how to best prepare it.  It adds variety to our menu, to the point that we don’t have to eat the same meal twice in a month if we don’t want to.

When I try a new ingredient I like to use a tried and true recipe.  I will look for one by America’s Test Kitchen or Alton Brown since everything they publish is amazing; or I will find a highly rated recipe on food.com.  I also like to read about the best way to handle the ingredient so I don’t ruin it.

Last week I bought crab meat at the grocery store on a whim – it was really on sale and I have never used it before so into the cart it went.  Once I brought it home and looked it up I realized that it isn’t an ingredient with many options: crab cakes, creamy crab pasta dishes, or crab salad.  I went with crab salad at the recommendation of a friend.

The recipe is incredibly simple: one pack of crab, a few stalks of celery, a little minced onion, mayonnaise, and salt and pepper to taste.

It didn’t go over well with my son (and I can’t eat it due to allergies,) but my husband loved it.  Now that I know that he is the only one who will eat crab salad, I will keep it in mind for adding variety to his lunches.  And even though my son didn’t like it, he was happy to try it and ate several bites before he formed his opinion.  I love that he is learning to really try new things, and nothing was wasted since we started with small test sized portions.

It is also fun to try new recipes with familiar ingredients – we love Greek shawarma, and I was surprised to find it is easy to make at home with ingredients we normally have on hand.  Other new ingredients that we have tried (and loved) have been: kale, tzatziki, star fruit, queso fresco, phyllo, lemon curd, fenugeek, and coconut.  I don’t get bored cooking, and we don’t get tired of eating at home.  We also have a pretty low grocery bill since I am frequently cooking from scratch.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

