Ground Turkey Egg Rolls and Fried Rice

February 24, 2011 at 10:51 am | Posted in Food | Leave a comment

I have 20 pounds of ground turkey in my freezer.  I also received a very large cabbage from my papa-in-law’s large garden, so I decided to try my favorite recipes for ground pork, using the turkey instead.   I was surprised that you couldn’t even tell the difference after it was seasoned – the turkey is 99% fat free, and ground pork is not anywhere close to that.  A little ginger, garlic, and soy sauce made all the difference.

I used the flavored ground turkey in two recipes: egg rolls and fried rice.  I shredded half of the large cabbage, and added 1/2 lb of the cooked, seasoned turkey after the cabbage was wilted.  I used this simple egg roll wrapper recipe and baked them at 350*F for 30 minutes.  Low fat deliciousness.

While the egg rolls were baking, I made some fried rice.  My Louisiana husband loves his rice, and I usually end up with leftovers that I can pop in the freezer for dishes like this.  I used the rest of the flavored ground turkey in the fried rice.  I did cut down on the soy sauce, since I can’t eat a lot of it, and let my husband add extra to his portion. High carb, but pretty low fat.  I made a simple shredded cabbage salad with sesame dressing on the side as well to round out the meal.

Ice cold orange slices drizzled with a touch of cinnamon and honey make a quick, healthy, and wonderful dessert.  To make it even richer, serve the orange slices over creamy Greek yogurt (or strain plain yogurt for a cheaper version.)   [Photo by pixel-perfect-stock]

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

