DIY: simple postcards

February 15, 2011 at 7:11 am | Posted in crafts, Postcrossing | Leave a comment

Send something much more personal than the generic postcards available at the store at a fraction of the cost: DIY post cards.  You can make them as personal as you want using your own photographs, or images in the public domain.  The graphics fairy and morgufile are two great places to get free images if you don’t want to use your own photography.

To start with, you will need to make an image to be printed out as a 4″x6″ photo.  I used 150dpi for the digital collage, and left the size alone for the photograph.  I took several photos of downtown Baton Rouge since I needed a local card for postcrossing.  There are tons of free photography tutorials online with suggestions for taking great photos- I am not sure that this qualifies as a good photo, but I liked the railing.

For a state map postcard I used images from wikipedia and the graphics fairy.  I edited the images using photoshop (paint.net is a free program with many of the same editing capabilities.)  I am not sure that I like how the postcard turned out, but some people collect state map cards so I decided to use it anyways.

I had my photos printed for free during a sale- I don’t like to print my own since the ink from my printer smudges when wet.  I used 110 pound plain white cardstock – it was just thick enough.  I have tried several types of adhesives: elmers glue crinkles the paper; rubber cement takes too long to dry, but holds well; glue pens hold well, but it is hard to get all the way to the edges of the card; tape runners work great; and spray adhesive works great if you can run inside quickly.

I sprayed the card stock with adhesive and quickly placed my three photos.  As soon as the glue has dried (about three minutes for spray adhesive,) trim around the edges of each photo.  Use a ruler to draw a line down the center of each postcard, and add a message.  I also like to add a one cent stamp since I am mailing the postcard in an envelope.  Easy, cheap, and much more personal than the generic postcards available from my local walmart.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

