Free Pattern: Simple Dolly and Dress

January 26, 2011 at 6:00 am | Posted in crafts, Handmade Christmas | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

Last year I made my niece a dolly for Christmas.  I couldn’t find a free pattern that I liked, so I drew my own, and set the pattern aside to scan later.  I found it last week, so [here] it is, in a 3 page pdf.

This doll was made specifically for a one year old, so it is reasonably small.  The hair is made of fleece, since little ones love to put everything in their mouths, and soggy yarn hair is really gross.  I was using the wrong type of bobbin, so I had trouble getting the hands and feet to look smooth.  If you are using the appropriate bobbin, and a short stitch, you won’t end up with misshapen ends like I did.

While I was looking for a pattern, I read that many doll makers use a knit over a cotton fabric.  Since I had scraps of both, I tried it out, and was very happy with how the doll turned out.  My niece didn’t mind the misshapen bits, and I enjoyed making something for her.  To make your own dolly with my pattern, save the 3 page .pdf file to your computer and follow the directions.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Simple Softie Dolly (pattern) – 2 hours […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

