Post card eschange (postcrossing)

December 23, 2010 at 6:00 am | Posted in homeschool, Postcrossing, totally random | Leave a comment

Since I have been busy with projects for Christmas, I thought that I would share my postcrossing blogPostcrossing is a free website that initiates international postcard exchanges.  You put in your address, and sign up to send up to 5 postcards.  For each postcard that you send you are emailed the profile and address of a user in another country.  You send them a postcard, and after they receive it they register it on the site.   After it is registered, another user will receive your address and profile to send you a postcard.  We have had a lot of fun looking up the different countries on a world map, and learning a few things about them.

I asked for recipes in the suggestion area on my profile, and have received one for strawberry cake from Estonia, and one for draniki (potato pancakes) from Belarus.  I also really enjoy looking at the different stamps that come on the postcards.  I have been using some of my photographs to make postcards – you just print off a photo (I usually get them printed since my printer’s ink smudges if it gets wet) and glue it to a piece of card stock.  It cost 0.98 to mail a postcard or letter internationally from the US.  Its a great way to learn about geography too.

I will be taking a break from posting for the next week or so as I spend time with my family.   So have a merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

