Taking Care of your supplies: scissors

December 21, 2010 at 6:00 am | Posted in crafts, totally random | Leave a comment
Tags:

I use my scissors a lot.  I have 2 pairs that are special – one is used only on fabric, and one is used only on sticky stuff (like adhesive vinyl and industrial velcro.)  The scissors I use for sticky stuff get gunked up pretty quickly – especially if I use them on velcro.  And sticky scissors don’t work well.

I bought some goo gone when a friend recommended it for removing paint from carpet.  It didn’t do a good job with the paint, but it is wonderful at removing sticky residue.  You only need a tiny bit, and the adhesive will dissolve with a little rubbing.

After I rub all the sticky off of my scissors, I run them through a sharpener a few times.  It hones the edges, and they work like new again.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

