Chili Recipe

October 30, 2010 at 6:29 am | Posted in Food | Leave a comment

The weather here in South Louisiana has finally dipped down below 60*F – it finally feels like fall.  The cool weather is a welcome change, so of course I have to make a meal that is best served during the cooler months.  (For some reason, chili just doesn’t taste as good when its 103*F outside.)  I seldom really measure everything, but I have a good eye for guesstimating amounts.

Rachel’s Cilantro Chili Recipe (low tomato content)

  • 1 lb lean ground chuck
  • 1 lb kidney beans, cooked (three large cans)
  • 2 large onions
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro
  • 1/4 cup cumin
  • 1 tbsp pepper
  • 2 tbsp kosher salt
  • 1 tbsp onion powder
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal or jiffy corn muffin mix

I love big hunks of onion in my chili, so I slice them big.  Saute onions in a large pot for around 10 minutes, until mostly tender.  Add the ground beef, and cook until done (about 10 minutes more.)  I keep pre-cooked ground beef in 1 lb portions in my freezer to use in meals like this, so I just warm it in the microwave for 2 minutes and stir it into the onions.

Add the kidney beans, cilantro, and dry spices.  There are onions and onion powder in my recipe – its not overkill: onion powder leaves foods with a different flavor than raw onions do.  Add 1/2 cup ketchup and around 2 cups of water, to thicken to your liking.  Stir everything well and bring to a simmer.  (This should take around 5 minutes, assuming your beef and beans are cold.)

Transfer to a crock pot, set on low, and allow the flavors to meld for at least 2 hours.  Enjoy at your leisure.   I love this meal because it takes under 30 minutes to put together, and it is ready for supper anytime.  Serve with corn chips or cornbread,  shredded cheese, and sour cream.  Unless you have a husband that insists on eating RICE with his chili, in which case you will have to wait for the rice to cook before eating the chili.

Random Note: There is a reason that I use 1/2 cup of ketchup instead of diced tomatoes.  I can’t eat the diced tomatoes, but I can eat small amounts of ketchup.  That 1/2 cup get spread in a large pot, so I will end up with about a tbsp in my serving.  If you love tomatoes, throw a large can of them in and decrease the water added.  Even better, use a few raw tomatoes and saute them with the onions – absolutely awesome!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

