Upcycled sundress for my adorable niece and iron on tag tutorial

March 31, 2010 at 2:48 pm | Posted in crafts | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

My mother in law gave me the bedspread that she had as a young girl (with permission to chop it up for crafty cuteness.)  It was adorable!  And it had the cutest little ruffled bottom.  I don’t have any little girls but I am seeing my niece in a few weeks so I decided to make her a sundress with the ruffles at the bottom.  I used the pattern at SnazzleCraft (it required a bit of playing with to get it to print right.)  As I don’t have a little girl (and my favorite color is blue,) I don’t have any pink ribbon or thread, but the green matched all of the flower stems so it worked out.  I used snaps instead of buttons, and placed them in the back, so that my niece won’t be able to undress herself.

I love making cute things, and I like to put tags in them.  Why?  I don’t know.  But I do.  :0)  So here’s how I did it, just in case you want to make some too.

You will need the following supplies:

  • small amount of screen printing ink/paint or soft fabric paint (not the tulip puffy kind)
  • alphabet stamps (I got these out of the dollar bin at Michael’s last year) or custom stamp
  • freezer paper
  • scrap of paper to use as spread
  • ribbon or fabric scraps
  • iron and cloth
  • heat n bond scraps
    • Squirt a small amount of ink onto your freezer paper.
    • Spread the ink out into a thin layer using your scrap paper (I doubled my scrap for a sturdier spreader.)
    • Use the ink like an ink pad, working quickly since the screen printing ink dries quickly.  Respread the ink as needed.
    • Let the ink dry and set as per package directions.  I let it dry overnight and ironed the next morning to set the ink.
      • Cut a small strip of heat n bond and iron onto the back of your ribbon.  I like to trim the stragglers off after applying the heat and bond, so that it seals the ends.
      • Peel off the paper backing and iron onto your items.

      You could also sew the tags in, or have them stick out the sides like a flag.  You can use acrylic paint to make tags that won’t be laundered often, I prefer to use a fabric paint myself.  This is a good use for scraps of ribbon, and small bits of heat and bond.  (It is also why I never throw anything away and have piles of junk filling up my bedroom…maybe you shouldn’t save those little scraps after all.)

        3 Comments »

        RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

        1. Very cute!!! You did a great job:) Love the tags! You should have tagged my sling. Did you see my blog pictures today?

          • So glad the sling works for you! I had a different tag ready to sew into your sling, but I forgot to put it in until it was too late, and I didn’t want to rip any hems out just to add a tag. :0)

        2. […] you remember, I made a sundress for my niece from a ruffled bedspread that my mother in law gave me.  I saw her this past week, […]


        Leave a Reply

                Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
        Entries and comments feeds.

