Hand carved stamps

November 13, 2009 at 9:03 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

mushroom stamp

My cousin introduced me to letter boxing, where you solve a puzzle to find a hidden stamp and then sign the log with your own hand carved stamp.   In the past I have cut stamps from foam, or rubber scraps, not know ing that a stamp carving material was available at the local craft store.

I have since had fun carving stamps for myself using a craft knife and my cricut tools.  I decided to list this stamp in my Etsy shop, although I was tempted to keep it for myself.

While time consuming, stamp carving isn’t difficult.  First, you need to draw your pattern on a sheet of paper using a pencil.  Keep in mind that thinner lines are harder to carve and require special tools.  I am using Speedball stamp carving material, because it was the only thing available to me, however there are many other brands out there.

I cut out the picture that I drew, and cut a piece of carving material to size.  Then, lay the picture face down on the material and rub firmly to faintly transfer the image onto the material.  I used a fine pointed knife to carve out the inside of small designs, and to make my basic outline.  I used the flat knife from my cricut tools to carve away the excess rubber and give depth to the stamp.  This stamp took almost an hour to carve because of the spots in the center of the mushroooms.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

