Child hood dreams…

March 16, 2009 at 7:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

As a child, there were a few things that I dreamed of doing when I was a ‘grown up:’  fly in an airplane, discover something, and write a book.  I have flown several times, the most memorable being when my husband’s pilot friend he took us up in a four passenger plane for one of our first dates.  We flew to a small airport diner, with awesome mushroom burgers – every girls dream date, right?

When I was in high school, I read a book about ghost towns in Florida, then actually researched and found one that had been forgotten about for 70+ years.  (What can I say, the state archives just interested me more than t.v.)  The park ranger was gracious enough to take me and a few friends out to see it, since he knew it was in the woods, but didn’t know what it was.  While I technically didn’t discover it, I did rediscover it, which is close enough for me.  🙂

So, that leaves writing a book.   I love to read, especially children’s fiction, so I decided to write a short story.  It is a challenge that I enjoy.  While I know that I can’t write well enough to be published, it has been a great creative outlet that doesn’t take up much space.  (Unlike scrap booking, which requires a large flat surface that remains relatively undisturbed.)

I have drawn a few of the elements of the story, and while I can’t really draw, I have had fun trying to, and you can tell what the pictures are supposed to be, for the most part 🙂

Unique skeleton style key

I like how the cave and rocks turned out, but not the rest... I was going for an underground city.

The necklace I drew for my story...

The necklace I drew for my story...

The key I made for my story

The key I made for my story

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

