Scanning medium format negatives

February 21, 2009 at 9:37 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I finally did figure out how to scan the medium format black and white negatives that belong to my mother in law.  They range in size from 2″x3″ to 3.5″x5″, so a negative scanner was out of the question.   She has more than 50, so getting them reprinted at $3-5 a piece was also out of the question.

I just scanned the negatives on a regular flatbed scanner, at a high resolution.  I then used getpaint.net’s free software to reverese the colors.  They turned out ok, but some of the detail didn’t really show up.  Since I am unfamiliar with paint.net, I am going to scan all of the negatives at my MIL’s, then bring them home to tweak with Photoshop.

It has been really neat to see the 60+ year old photos, including my husband’s grandma’s wedding.  I am also really looking foward to putting them on cd’s to share with all of the aunts, uncles, and cousins.

I would like to make a tutorial, after I figure out the best method.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

