Beaded Star of David

April 8, 2008 at 3:20 pm | Posted in crafts | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Handmade star of david ornamentMy great Grandma has been making beaded ornaments and things for years. Although she is no longer able to work with the beads, she passed the know how down to my Grandma, who in turn passed it on to my Mom. Several years ago I learned how to make a few ornaments, the easiest of which was this Star of David.

At a recent family gathering, I asked my Grandma and Mom to show me how to make another ornament, which we call the ‘sputnik.’ I was surprised to find that neither of them really remembered how, although we were able to sort of figure out what to do (after a few botched attempts) by looking at a completed ornament.

My Grandma had a few books that my great Grandma had given her, with detailed directions, but they were lost when the house flooded in hurricane Ivan. I looked everywhere, and was only able to find 2 thin books that had anything remotely like them. So, I have decided to make detailed, step by step directions with photographs or diagrams (whichever turns out to be easier.) It would be a shame to lose the knowledge after 4 generations.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

