Doctor Who invitations

July 1, 2011 at 2:38 pm | Posted in crafts | 11 Comments
Tags: , ,

My husband and I are big sci-fi fans.  We found Doctor Who last year, and have enjoyed catching up on the series.  This month my husband is turning 30, and for his birthday he wants a Tardis cake.  I thought it would be fun to have invitations like they had in the most recent season premiere – not that anyone else will know what it is, but he will appreciate it.

Continue reading on randomcreativity.net – sorry for the inconvenience but I have moved to my own domain :)

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. [...] bought soda in glass bottles, to go with the 50′s diner theme of the episode with the invitations we used.  I also did a google image search and printed a few 8.5″x11″ posters that I [...]

  2. VERY COOL. I may be stealing this idea for my daughter’s 7th!! Thanks!

  3. I literally came upon this while researching for my 30th birthday party! I wasn’t sure what number to put on the envelopes, but I am so stealing “30″ for them all! Even weirder, mine will be almost exactly a year after yours…

  4. This is so great! This is just what I need for my friend’s 16 birthday! Thanks! :D

  5. Sweet. I’m looking at doing something similar just for fun. I wanted to verify with you that all of the cards did arrive as they were suppose to.

    • All of the cards arrived fine. I sent them from one of the smaller post offices, where they hand stamp the mail to cancel the postage, and then it goes to the larger post office with the processing center to be shipped to the appropriate address. When I talked to the postmaster before I added all the extra stamps they said I could put stickers all over if I wanted, as long as the addresses and real stamp were there it would be delivered. I have mailed see through postcards, and I know people who have mailed water bottles and wine glasses – the post office delivers all kinds of odd things as long as you pay the postage :-)

      • Thank you!

  6. where did you get your blue envelopes?

    • I think office depot? My Mom bought them like 9 years ago on clearance, so I doubt you could find the same brand… if you can’t find any at a craft store, and you don’t need a ton there are lots of free templates to make your own envelopes, and you can get blue 12×12 scrapbook paper at most craft stores. Or paper places sell all kinds of colored envelopes. :-)

  7. Would you be willing to upload the templates of the stamps if you still have them? I want to use this idea for my wedding invitations :) I know only a few people will get it, but it will make my fiance and I so giddily happy.

    • Sorry, the images I used weren’t all in the public domain, or I would have shared them. If you do an image search for vintage astronaut stamps a lot of neat things come up. :-)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

