DIY: Refill Lysol no touch hands free soap

June 9, 2011 at 6:00 am | Posted in thrifty projects, totally random | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

In case you didn’t know, I am a couponer.  A few months ago I got a Lysol hands free soap dispenser for $2 -I love it because it helps little hands get the right portion of soap.  I was not going to pay $3-4 for a refill though, when I can buy regular soap for a lot less.  I figured that I could refill it, and was surprised that the cap wouldn’t come off.   I did a quick google search, and found that people either pried the caps off with screwdrivers, drilled holes in the top, or used large plastic syringes to refill.  This way is much quicker, simpler and less messy.

You will need a cheap mustard bottle from the dollar store, soap, and your empty container.  Look for a mustard/ketchup bottle with a narrow pointy tip.

Fill your mustard (or ketchup) bottle with soap.

Gently stick the nozzle of the mustard bottle into the hole in the top of the lysol bottle.  The rubber stopper is held on by some side strings, and will slip down.  Slide the bottle tip through the gap so the soap can be dispensed.  It took a little more than one mustard bottle to refill my soap.

Wipe any excess soap off before putting it back on the dispenser.  Since I already had everything out, I refilled the mustard bottle all the way and stuck the cap back on so its ready to go next time.  I have refilled my dispenser with softsoap and equate soap, and both have worked fine.  I try not to mix brands as I have had problems with that in a regular soap dispenser in the past, so make sure that the soap is as empty as possible before refilling it with another brand.  This is the fourth time that I have refilled it, with no leaks or problems.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I had thought about getting one of those on a coupon deal, but figured I would never by the refills so why bother. Thanks for showing me how to refill it. I might get one after all. BTW it is LYSOL. :)

    • Thanks – spell check didn’t like it however I spelled it :-)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

