Flashback: cleaning mold stains from bathtub caulk

March 13, 2011 at 6:00 am | Posted in totally random | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Totally random non crafty, non foodie cleaning tip:  Due to the moist environment of a bathtub/shower, it is quite easy for mold to grow in the corners, even if it is cleaned regularly.   I normally scrub the caulk down when I clean the bathtub, but after a point the caulk is stained and no amount of scrubbing will remove the black.I tried several cleaners before I found a good solution – clorox bleach pen.  It is a gel that you are supposed to squirt on and immediately wipe off.  The first time that I tried wiping it off after 5 minutes of soaking there was no difference.   Figuring I had nothing to loose since I would have to scrape the caulk off anyways, I let it sit for about 16 hours.  I was amazed at the clean, white caulk that I discovered when I rinsed the bleach off the next morning.  Now, I treat the caulk with a bleach pen a few times a year to keep it looking as nice as a 30 year old shower can look.  I think the bleach is somehow absorbed by the caulk, because it takes a lot longer than it normally would for the mildew to start growing again.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

