Perfect mid-sized purse

February 21, 2011 at 12:38 pm | Posted in crafts | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

I made three purse patterns before I found one that was the right size (I ended up with two massive bags before I found this perfectly sized purse.)  The Diana hobo purse pattern is free, from Elizabeth Carroll Designs.  The size and body of the purse are perfect, and it was easy to customize.   And it only took 3 hours to make.

I lined the purse with banner vinyl to get a really sturdy bag that will last.  I added a zippered pocket to the back of one lining piece (I don’t like unmentionables or medicine floating loose in my purse.)  I also sewed pockets around the entire lining.  I have two key rings to hand sew to the top inside so I can quickly find my keys and store cards.

The only problems that I have had so far are that the straps are a little wide for my narrow shoulders, and my cell phone gets lost in the deep pockets.  I can easily take the straps in a little, and make a cute phone holder from scrap fabric.

As you can see, it holds a lot of stuff.  The main reason I needed a new purse was because I started couponing in November, and finally picked up some coupon organizers last month.  It is well worth toting them around for the massive amounts of free stuff I have received, and the money that I have saved, but the little buggars filled my other purse beyond maximum capacity.  The fabric was from my mom’s stash, and is probably as old as I am.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It looks great! I actually started making the straps half the size of what I stated in the pattern because the straps seem to slip off the shoulder with the thickness that I put in the pattern!

  2. I like it. I know what you mean about the coupons taking up room. I carry mine everywhere also.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

