Cake Balls from scratch

September 8, 2010 at 7:00 am | Posted in Food | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

These cute little cake balls are fairly simple to make, if time consuming.  You are supposed to use a cake mix and canned frosting, but, by the time you measure out the eggs and oil I figure you may as well make your cake from scratch.  And I can’t eat canned icing – too much soybean oil.  I know, my color choose is, um, interesting to say the least.  I utterly detest football, but I am bringing these to a football party, so I went with the team colors.  Which is very unusual for me, but it made more sense than the baby blue and white that I also had.  Read on for the recipe and directions.

Before you get started, preheat the oven to 350*F.  Now, on to the cake: cream together 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup softened butter, 2 eggs, and vanilla. I don’t ever measure my vanilla, therefore none of my recipes contain amounts.  I think I usually use about 1/2 tbsp, which is probably twice as much as a normal recipe would call for.  I love the strong flavor that it adds.

After the wet ingredients are well mixed, stir in 1 1/2 cups flour, and 1 3/4 tsp baking powder. Mix well.

Add 1/2 cup of milk, and mix until homogeneous (well incorporated.)

Pour batter into greased and floured 8″x8″ pan.  My pan was not floured, and my cake stuck.

Smooth batter out, and bake for about 35 minutes, until a knife comes out clean.

Allow the cake to cool completely.  I trimmed the browned edges so they wouldn’t end up in the balls.  I find that it cools faster if you place the pan on a cooling rack.

For the frosting you will need 1/2 cup softened butter, 2 tbsp milk, and 1 lb powdered sugar. You will notice that my butter is beyond softened – it melted.  Incorporate the sugar into the butter and milk, gradually adding more until the desired consistency is achieved.  I usually only use 3/4 of a lb.  If you find its too dry, add more milk; if its too wet add more sugar.

Set aside about 1/2 of your frosting.  You may or may not need it.

Crumble the cooled cake into the remaining half of the frosting.  Stir well to combine.

Add more icing as needed.  You want a dough that holds together, but isn’t too wet.  Once you achieve a consistency that can hold its shape form the dough into balls.

Place balls on a lined cookie sheet.  Insert toothpicks into the tops, being careful to only go halfway in.  If you have a fancy dipping tool, you can skip the toothpicks.

Place the balls in the freezer for an hour or so to chill completely.  Or refrigerate for several hours.  Make sure anything smelly is wrapped in foil – bell pepper scented cake balls would be disgusting!

Carefully dip the balls in melted chocolate wafers.  Decorate as desired, hiding the toothpick holes.  The mini gold cupcake liners were marked down to $0.25 sometime after christmas last year – they make my sorry chocolate dipping job look much better.  I am sure there is a trick to getting a beautiful, even coating of chocolate without covering yourself in it – I just haven’t discovered it.

After I finished drizzling the tops of the balls with contrasting chocolate I still had some leftover.  I poured some pretzels and peanuts onto the lined baking sheet and drizzled the leftover chocolate over it.  Add a bag of popcorn, and you have a nice salty sweet treat that coordinates without leaving any waste.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. These are very cute!! About how many balls did they make? Just curious in case I ever decide to make them for our church fellowship meals on Sunday nights.

    • I think around 50 – but I had to look at the photos to count them. They filled a 9×13 glass pyrex and we had around a dozen leftover afterward. Everybody loved them – and they are fancy enough to bring to a shower or tea party :-)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

